Ftarri / Meenna

Zhu Wenbo / Zhao Cong / Takashi Masubuchi / Masahide Tokunaga / Yuma Takeshita / Yuji Ishihara / Hiroyuki Ura

Trio and Septet

(Ftarri 6th Anniversary Vol. 3)

Numbered limited edition of 200
Out on August 26, 2018
Purchase price in Japan: 1,500 yen (tax not included)
(For purchase outside of Japan, prices vary.)

  1. Trio Improvisation (25:12)
  2. Noise Music [2018] (17:13)

    Composition by Zhu Wenbo (2)

    mp3 excerpt: track 1
    mp3 excerpt: track 2

On tracks 1 and 2:
Zhao Cong: electronics, objects
Takashi Masubuchi: guitar
Masahide Tokunaga: alto saxophone

On track 2:
Zhu Wenbo: buzzers, clarinet, whistle
Yuma Takeshita: electro-bass
Yuji Ishihara: drums, percussion
Hiroyuki Ura: percussion

Recorded live by Zhu Wenbo at Ftarri, Tokyo, June 13, 2018
Mastered by Hiroyuki Ura

This is the 3rd CD release commemorating the 6th anniversary of Ftarri, the CD shop in Suidobashi, Tokyo. It documents a concert held at Ftarri in June 2018, featuring Beijing-based musicians Zhu Wenbo and Zhao Cong. The first set was an improvised performance by Zhao Cong (electronics, objects), guitarist Takashi Masabuchi, and alto sax player Masahide Tokunaga (25 minutes). In the second set, a septet consisting of these three musicians plus Zhu Wenbo (buzzer, clarinet, whistle), Yuma Takeshita (remodeled bass guitar), Yuji Ishihara (drums, percussion), and Hiroyuki Ura (percussion) perform Zhu Wenbo's composition "Noise Music" (17 minutes). Both are carefully controlled, finely detailed, superb performances.

Last updated: October 3, 2018

Ftarri home page